Commonwealth Games 2022 all set for inaugural eSports competition

Published on:

On 6 and 7 August 2022, esports athletes will take centre stage in Birmingham, UK, and compete at the Commonwealth Esports Championships (CEC) for the very first time.

This is a showcase pilot event and the medals are not counted towards the final tally. But work is under progress, to make eSports a medal event from 2026 Commonwealth Games. It is worth noting that Asian Games 2022 features eight eSports titles with 24 medals.

Over 100 athletes representing diverse Commonwealth nations and territories will go head-to-head in three esports titles – DOTA 2, eFootball™ series, and Rocket League for the honour of being crowned a champion.

“This is historic,” Paul J. Foster, CEO of the GEF said. “Fans of all ages will soon be cheering some of the very best esports athletes in the world to win medals for themselves and their country.”

“We are proud of being one of the most inclusive, welcoming, and fastest-growing communities in the world and this is an exciting chapter for our #worldconnected.”

The CEC, which is a joint initiative between the Global Esports Federation and the Commonwealth Games Federation, will take place at the International Convention Centre (ICC) in Birmingham, located in the heart of the 2022 Commonwealth Games city. Sessions start daily at 9.00am and run through until 6.00pm. Tickets are on sale here with chances to watch the world’s best, available from just £35 per session.

Esports athletes from across the Commonwealth – Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania – have come through regional qualifiers for the right to be in Birmingham alongside their Commonwealth sporting peers.

“We are delighted to be welcoming the best esports athletes in the Commonwealth to Birmingham,” said Katie Sadleir, CEO of the CGF. “I have no doubt the Commonwealth Esports Championships will present a thrilling sporting spectacle and point the way towards the future of esports.”

India will be taking part in DOTA 2 and Rocket League. Hargun, jocse, Rushil_Y will represent India in the Rocket League bout and they have been placed in Group B alongside Canada, England and Wales. Moin Ejaz, Ketan Goyal, Abhishek Yadav, Shubham Goli, and Vishal Vernekar are the esteemed athletes chosen to represent the country in DOTA 2.