Dubai Vipers win the first edition of JetSynthesys’ Global E-Cricket Premier League

Published on:

Technology and gaming company JetSynthesys hosted the grand finale for the first-ever Global E-Cricket Premier League on Friday, December 08. Dubai Vipers’ squad emerged victorious in the finale held at the Balewadi Stadium in Pune, Maharashtra. The other three finalists included squads like New York Apes, London Rhinos, and Kolkata Haws.

The finale was broadcasted live, which was the first-ever instance of an e-Cricket event being streamed by people while the games were ongoing. The winning team and top players walked away with a prize pool of Rs 2.51 crores.

Alongside the finale event, the evening also saw the launch of online cricket title Real Cricket™ 24. Notably, the title is a free-to-play (FTP) and first-of-its-kind esportable game with 27 crore lifetime downloads. The game also has a monthly active game plays of 1.2 to 1.5 crores.

On the eve of the finale, JetSynthesys Founder and CEO Rajan Navani said, “Embarking on the inaugural season of the Global E-cricket Premier League has been an exhilarating journey. It’s being filled with passion, innovation, and the sheer joy of witnessing a global community unite through the virtual realm of e-cricket. I am immensely delighted to see our vision come to life, and the success of this debut season is a testament to the incredible dedication of everyone involved.”

“Congratulations to the winning team and all the players who made it to this Grand Finale. Their skill, sportsmanship, and determination have set the standard for excellence in e-cricket. Cricket came to us from the West but today, I’m proud to say that our Made-in-India Real Cricket™ and GEPL have set the stage for India exporting cricket esports to the world,” Rajan added.

Rohit Potphode, President of Esports at JetSynthesys, “In the ever-expanding landscape of esports, players today are spoilt for choice, and the avenues to pursue their passion are limitless. GEPL has not only provided a platform for players to showcase their skills but has also contributed to the growing recognition of e-cricket as a successful and entertaining sport. I am thrilled to witness the reception the tournament has received and witnessing the fruition of our collective efforts has been truly gratifying. This inaugural season has not only marked a milestone for GEPL but has also propelled e-cricket into the global sporting spotlight. We are happy to witness the convergence of talent, strategy, and sheer determination, captivating audiences worldwide.”

Popular gamers like Shreeman Legend, Dynamo, Soneeta Thapa Magar also marked their presence at the event hosted by JetSynthesys. Additionally, rappers like EPR Iyer, Henny Papi, among others set the night ablaze with their musical performances.

“As we conclude this thrilling chapter, I encourage players from around the world to join us in the next season. E-cricket is not just a game; it’s a platform for dreams to take flight, and I look forward to witnessing even more exceptional talent shaping the future of this digital cricketing landscape. Together, let’s continue to elevate the spirit of competition and camaraderie in the virtual realm of cricket,” Navani concluded.

Individual award winners for the series:

#FindYourGlory Award – Sajan Preet Singh (Mumbai Grizzles)
Fairplay Award – Akshat Koundal (Sydney Panthers)
Maximum fours – Soumyadipta Biswas (Delhi Sharks) for 37 fours
Maximum sixes – Soumyadipta Biswas (Delhi Sharks) for 20 sixes
Most Runs – Soumyadipta Biswas (Delhi Sharks) for 377 runs
Highest Wicket-Taker – Manish Kumar Ray from Dubai Vipers for taking 15 wickets

Tournament Results:

Winner – Dubai Vipers
First runner-up – New York Apes
Second runner-up – London Rhinos
Fourth position – Kolkata Hawks
Fifth position – Mumbai Grizzles
Sixth position – Delhi Sharks
Seventh position – Sydney Panthers
Eighth position – Chennai Wolves